Tech Dreams

Lunar Eclipse Hitting The Earth Again

As we are marching towards the end of this year, we are about to experience one more eclipse. This time , its a partial lunar eclipse and it happens on the last day of this year.That is December 31st 2009,The New Year's Eve.The most part of the eclipse is visible from the eastern hemisphere and the entire magnitude of this eclipse is 0.0763.

Partial_Lunar_Eclipse

The greatest of the eclipse takes place at 19.23 (Universal time) and that is when the eclipse reaches the highest magnitude, which is 0.0763. As the eclipse occurs in the eastern hemisphere, most of the Asian,European and African countries can experience this eclipse.

Lunar_Eclipse_Dec_31_2009

The following table has the list of few places and the time during which the eclipse occurs there. All the time listed here are the local timings of that place.

Place<

/strong>

Eclipse start time Eclipse end time Max eclipse time
India 00.23 1.23 00.53
France 19.53 20.53 20.23
Germany 19.53 20.53 20.23
UK 18.53 19.53 19.23
Russia 21.53 22.53 22.23
Dubai 22.53 23.53 23.23

CC Image Credit : Fjota

6 Comments on Lunar Eclipse Hitting The Earth Again

  1. Vijay
    January 1, 2010 at 5:40 am (8 years ago)

    Seen the partial Lunar Eclipse. It was so clear in the UK.

  2. Mahesh
    December 31, 2009 at 6:17 pm (8 years ago)

    Talking about Dar Es Salaam, we are in full eclipse zone as per NASA. So as per UT it starts 17:17 and ends at 21:29. As we are +3 hours zone, it starts at 20:17 and ends at 00:29 hours on January 1st.

  3. Ali
    December 31, 2009 at 5:42 pm (8 years ago)

    Dar-es-salaam – 9:53pm – 10:53pm

  4. lalita
    December 30, 2009 at 12:48 pm (8 years ago)

    wht s the timing of lunar eclipse in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. pls reply as i m pregnant and i need to know..

  5. Kim Alexander
    December 30, 2009 at 9:01 am (8 years ago)

    Are there any web sites that will offer live video streaming of the eclipse? I’d love to watch it live here in California if possible….thanks!

  6. VIK
    December 6, 2009 at 2:30 am (9 years ago)

    The solar eclipse on 31st December 2009, please advise what time it starts in Brisbane Australia, what times does it end?